Conference Programme

19th Meeting of the ICANN Studienkreis

7–8 October 2019, Lisbon, Portugal

DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon

Our sponsors in 2019:
Afilias Global Registry Services
VeriSign Authentication Services
eco Verband der deutschen Internetwirtschaft e. V.


.PT – Associação DNS.PT
Tucows Inc.


Monday, 7 October 2019

12.30 – 13.30

Registration & welcome coffee

13.00 – 13.35

Welcome & opening

Wolfgang Kleinwächter, Chair & Founder, ICANN Studienkreis

13.35 – 14.05

Internet in Portugal – Policy, community & domain name market

Charlotte Simões, Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (FCT)
Eduardo Duarte,

14.05 – 15.30

Keynote 1:
ICANN at the eve of the 2020s – Where we go with ICANN new governance model?

Göran Marby, CEO & President, ICANN

15.30 – 16.00


16.00 – 18.00

Session 1:
Unintended side effects of national legislation – Do policy and code makers understand each other?

Bertrand de la Chapelle, Internet & Jurisdiction
Leonid Todorov, APTLD
Chris Buckridge, RIPE NCC
Moderator: Maarten Botterman, ICANN Director

19.30 – 23.00

Boat cruise and cultural dinner

Tuesday, 8 October 2019

9.00 – 9.50

Introductory remarks:
ICANN – The priorities of the next Strategic Plan

Cherine Chalaby, Chair of the ICANN Board

9.50 – 11.00

Session 2:
DNS over HTTPS – Threat or opportunity for ICANN?

Vittorio Bertola, Open-Xchange
Peter Koch, DENIC eG
Caroline Greer, Cloudflare
Michele Neylon, Blacknight
Moderator: Avri Doria, ICANN Board

11.00 – 11.30


11.30 – 13.00

Session 3:
The rise and fall of the DNS market – Do we need an identity in cyberspace?

Katrin Olmert, Dotzon
Barbara Povše, Arnes, .si Registry
Dirk Krischenowski, dotBERLIN
Jim Prendergast, The Galway Strategy Group
Graeme Bunton, Tucows
Moderator: Roberto Gaetano, EURALO

13.00 – 14.00


14.00 – 15.45

Session 4:
Protection of the public core of the Internet – Do we need new regulation?

Jaap Akkerhuis, NLnet Labs
Alexander Klimburg, The Hague Centre for Strategic Studies
Patrick Kane, Verisign
Kuo Wei Wu, NIIEPA
Moderator: Thomas Rickert, Association of the Internet Industry

15.45 – 16.15


16.15 – 18.00

Session 5:
The UN High Level Panel on Digital Cooperation – Looking into the future

Wolfram von Heynitz, Federal Foreign Ministry of Germany
Livia Walpen, Swiss Federal Office of Communications
Yrjö Länsipuro, ISOC Finland
Moderator: William J. Drake, University of Zürich

as of 6 October 2019